I am not really good at advice, or taking advice rather. I am naturally too stubborn and probably too lazy to actually take advice from anyone, on pretty much anything. Which is really too bad because I have a lot of great people in my life who are only trying to help. The one thing that I can’t stand is unsolicited advice from strangers. I have twice had customers lecture me on my shoes. One in Denver and one in Tosa, however the one in Denver was so much more kind about it. The woman at Mayfair, who was also employee at the mall, explained how I was destroying my feet and back and was trying to tell me that I should listen to her because that is what she sells: shoes. I completely ignored her out of utter disgust from her rudeness. I had half a mind to tell her she should stop smoking and explain that she should listen to me because both of my grandfathers died of smoking-induced cancers, but I bit my tongue and finished making her coffee. (FYI I do wear supports in my shoes and am not in a position to buy shoes but once a year). I guess it may be how I try to keep myself separate from the job I am doing, but I do not think I would ever walk up to someone and tell them that what they are doing is all wrong. (This of course does not include crimes or acts of violence). Openly castigating a complete stranger, no matter how innocent the intention, is very rude to me.

I have some PTO coming my way next week and naturally I am booked solid. Oh well, no rest for the wicked as they say. It is just so frustrating that I have to use my vacation time to manage my household affairs and regular doctor appointments. But I have to work and my line of work takes all hours on any day of the week. I am very grateful for my job,  I just wish I was better (i.e. more efficient) at it sometimes. Here’s to a beautiful weekend and hopefully more Indian Summer coming our way!

One comment

  1. i can totally relate about feeling like unsolicited advice is VERY rude.  did you get any of that with either of your pregnancies, too?  i’ve heard that pregnant women get tons of “helpful” information.  like, “YOU’RE GONNA DIE IN CHILDBIRTH, MISSY.”also want you to know how proud i am that you’re blogging again, and keeping at it!  inspirational, i tell ya…

Leave a Reply

